Times Change and Sands Shifting

10446489_10152106237197035_592801096653710064_nI’m going to pretend that after my daughter winds up her last days of High School this week that nothing will be different. What’s nice is that she’s decided to take a year off before starting her study in Animation at a college in New York. It’s nice because we’ll both have a year off in essence. I won’t have to launch immediately from the shifting time sand spot straight to shopping and prepping for shipping her off to college. It’ll come on gradual-like.

Still, I’m going to pretend that after my daughter winds up her last days of High School this week that nothing will be different. I’m going to pretend that everything will be the same and life will always be this sweet in between time. Rather than opening the front door in August and finding that huge pile of time-sands waiting to cave in on me I imagine I’ll be sweeping it away daily as we track it in on our shoes and dump it from our pockets.

It’s worth mentioning that it’s possible while using this strategy (some might label “denial” ha!) that when the shifting of the time-sands really starts to pile up at my front door it’ll come as the shock it is intended to be. And maybe that’s all right. Maybe that’s what finally gets the blood pumping and the excitement running. Maybe the adrenaline of it all will be what makes the lengthening of our lives bearable at moments like this when a kid gets ready to go out on her own.

In any case, I’ll set myself up for the big sweep when the time comes, when it catches up to me, when the tears come at last but in the meantime I’ll take this sweet in between. I’ll take it with both hands, holding tight.

2 thoughts on “Times Change and Sands Shifting

  1. I’m going through the same situation at my house. Artwork and blogging take my mind of it. Loved the article.

Leave a comment